Transfer Global Architecture Platform, is a new digital editorial project based on the production and transmission of architectural knowledge with the aim of connecting contemporary ideas and practices to build a global architectural culture.

Learn more

Transfer is a nonprofit organization which welcomes private or institutional donations to support the production and distribution of original, independent and high-quality architectural knowledge, addressed to a creative global audience.

Learn more

Global Architecture Platform

The presentation of the TRANSFER Architecture Video Award 2021 finalist videos and the announcement of the awarded entries will take place in the framework of the cinema encounters Ecrans Urbains on October 29, 2021 at the Musée Cantonal de Beaux Arts of Lausanne. Please find further information in this link.


The TRANSFER Architecture Video Award  is an independent award, launched in 2019, to recognise the most creative and innovative short films in the field of architecture, city or landscape worldwide.
The 2019 edition of the Award attracted the participation of over 300 videos from more than 50 countries.
Video is becoming increasingly instrumental in analysing architecture and the human environment, and is directly related to the digital networks that underpin contemporary communication.
With the TRANSFER Architecture Video Award, we aim to highlight the contributions that best represent new means of knowledge and analysis of architecture using video as a support.


The main criteria are the short film’s contribution to exploring innovative ways of analysing and experiencing architecture, city or landscape, the relevance of the topic and its social impact, and a high standard of production.
Short films must have a maximum duration of 5 minutes and must have been produced within the past three years (2019-2021).


The award is global in scope and open to filmmakers, architects, artists, photographers or any individual or group whose video work is related with architecture, city or landscape.


Giovanna Borasi, Director, Canadian Center for Architecture, Montreal
Alejandra Celedón, Professor, Head Master Architecture, Pontificia Universidad Católica, Santiago de Chile
Josep Ferrando, Principal Josep Ferrando Architecture, Director ETSA La Salle-URL, Director Centre Obert d’Arquitectura, Barcelona
Fabrizio Gallanti, Director Arc en Rêve, Bordeaux
Daniel Kötter, Filmmaker, Berlin
Rahul Mehrotra, Principal RMA architects, Mumbai-Boston, Professor and Chair Department Urban Planning, Harvard GSD
Isabel Concheiro, Editor-in-chief, TRANSFER
Helen van Vemde, Founder, Sotto Voce Fondation


The Award winner and honourable mentions will receive a TRANSFER Architecture Video Award 2021 certificate. They will be published on the TRANSFER Global Architecture Platform and be presented in a public event in the Fall 2021.


Call for submissions: 1 April 2021
Submission deadline: 1 July 2021 > extended deadline: 4 July 2021
Announcement of the finalist videos: October 2021
Award ceremony: 29 October 2021


Entries will be submitted exclusively online to:
Submission documents: original short film Full HD 1920x1080px, mp4, short film title and description, author’s contact details. Each participant can submit a maximum of two videos.
Submission fee: 50 €

Participation Terms

Please see the TRANSFER Architecture Video Award 2021 brief below.

Organisation & Contact

TRANSFER Global Architecture Platform
Oberdorfstrasse 8
CH-8001 Zurich


Supported by



Media partners



Would you like to support the production of original, independent architectural content?

We are very grateful for your support!